Posted in Uncategorized

Zoom on it

 

Sometimes the discussion of a song is about the overall meaning, other times it’s about a specific detail or expression.

Alan Walker’s Faded was brought to my attention by my students when they introduced us to their favourite songs. (Read about that here.)

It’s a good song from learning point of view because the chorus is easy, while the verses have some deeper meaning behind the simple words.

With the FCE class we focused on these meanings.

“Afraid our aim is out of sight”

What do ‘aim’ and ‘out of sight’ mean? What does the line say about relationships?

“The monster’s running wild inside of me”

What is this ‘monster’? Feelings? Thoughts? Dreams?

“These shallow waters never met what I needed”

What does ‘shallow’ mean? What are shallow waters, the other person?

The lyrics ignited some interesting discussions and debates even, about love and expectations. I love it when I can sit back and listen to the students share their opinions with each other, placing a question here or there to inspire further thoughts.

***

In April I set myself a challenge to use more music when teaching English. I passionately believe in the power of music to make everything better and I want to motivate my students to feel more relaxed, and at the same time more inspired about learning English. It really has been a journey with ups and downs, some unfulfilled plans and unpopular exercises but even if I couldn’t blog daily I’m glad I didn’t give up. It has brought me closer to my students and made me enjoy teaching more. Thank you for reading about it. 

***

Author:

My soul breathes music and exhales words.

Leave a Reply

