Posted in Activities

Yes or no

 

Every book and article I read about teaching children reiterates their need of moving around in class, learning not just by their head but their body as well.

I can’t (well, don’t even want to) argue with that so I try to make the classes a little dynamic. (Space is an issue so it’s not easy but it’s still possible.)

One of the activities the kids like is when I ask yes/no or true/false questions and they have to stand in the corner dedicated to yes or no.

Of course they follow each other sometimes instead of figuring out the answer themselves but I try to make them think by asking the dreaded “Why?” question: why do you think it’s true? If it’s false what’s the right answer?

It’s possible to do the same not just with texts we read but songs we listen to as well, as long as I’m sure that they had little difficulty understanding it. And what the books say, is true. They retain a lot more information through this exercise than through checking a yes/no box in their books.

Note: Apart from practising English I also learn a lot about their group dynamics: who follows, who leads, who is brave enough to stand against popular opinion. Making at least mental notes of that makes it easier to manage the class as a group as well.

***

In April I set myself a challenge to use more music when teaching English. I passionately believe in the power of music to make everything better and I want to motivate my students to feel more relaxed, and at the same time more inspired about learning English. I’m sure it’ll be a journey with ups and downs! 😉

***

Author:

My soul breathes music and exhales words. Be careful, you might end up in one of my creations one day. And you might even like it.

Leave a Reply

