Posted in Music

Xylophone and other instruments

 

I love just chatting to students where they use English without noticing how much they learn.

I’ve been doing so since I started with these groups in January and I’m taking a moment to congratulate ourselves how much they’ve improved.

When I started, getting a question only verbally and in a general topic resulted in scared, sometimes shocked little faces, looking at each other whispering:

“What does that mean?”

Now, the teenagers ask me questions, too, about my weekend, my family, how I find life here etc.

I’ve no rules for this part of the lesson, we talk about anything but I try to steer the conversation to topics related to either their Cambridge exam or the topic of the lesson.

Unless of course I’m doing this challenge and we talk about music. 😉 It was quite surprising, talking about what instruments they play because out of 10, about 5 said they played xylophone. I haven’t actually met a person who played xylophone, not sure if it’s a Spanish thing or coincidence.

We also had a debate about what is a flute. This…
image

Or this…
image

It was great to see the assertive arguments as they discussed the different versions.

***

In April I set myself a challenge to use more music when teaching English. I passionately believe in the power of music to make everything better and I want to motivate my students to feel more relaxed, and at the same time more inspired about learning English. I’m sure it’ll be a journey with ups and downs! 😉

***

Author:

My soul breathes music and exhales words.

Leave a Reply

