Posted in Activities, Music

Untangle the sentences

If a song is difficult or if the class is on elementary level, this can work better than fill in the gaps.

In my elementary classes the book uses this type of exercise a lot and I can see how it helps the students.

They get the words in the right format (even with the capital letter for the first word in the sentence and the punctuation with the last one), all they have to do is put them in the right order.

It makes them think about word structure and since they are sentences that we read, talked about and listened to together, it also helps with the familiarity to remember.

If it’s only based on listening I’ll have to be careful to give them time to understand it so best to do it with the repeated lines of the chorus.

I haven’t done this exercise yet with a song but I am planning to use it in an intermediate class.

***

In April I set myself a challenge to use more music when teaching English. I passionately believe in the power of music to make everything better and I want to motivate my students to feel more relaxed, and at the same time more inspired about learning English. I’m sure it’ll be a journey with ups and downs! πŸ˜‰

***

Author:

My soul breathes music and exhales words. Be careful, you might end up in one of my creations one day. And you might even like it.

One thought on “Untangle the sentences

  1. This was one of my favorites when I taught, Andrea πŸ™‚ You’re right, it probably works best with Intermediate and above, but I did use it with Beginner levels a few times, but always with the pop hit of the moment, something they were already familiar with (and motivated to find out what the lyrics were all about)… I found it useful as a “don’t panic” exercise; I’d ask them to find a word they recognized in the lyric line, and try to listen for that one. It worked pretty okayβ€”and we always had a ton of fun πŸ™‚

    Can you believe we’re two days away from finishing the Challenge? Not sure what I’m going to do with myself, with all that time on my hands again πŸ˜€
    Guilie @ Life In Dogs

    Like

Leave a Reply

