Posted in Activities, Teenagers

Rhymes

Most songs cone with a rhyme so it was a no brainer really but it was fascinating to see the difference between two groups on the same level.

I have two KET groups (that is teenagers at the higher end of A2 level) and we did the rhyming exercise in both. The task was to find a job that rhymes with the names of people on a specific list. E.g. Penny Proctor is a doctor.

In one group, they had time to do it themselves as I had to take one of the pupils to the director (selfie in class, tut-tut) and maybe that thinking / discussion time made the difference because they came up with some pretty cool solutions. E.g. Nigel Nailor is a sailor. I liked that one!

In the other class the concept of rhymes was harder for the students to grasp. When we practised examples like shop-hop or white-bright, they got it but when we switched to names, they clammed up.

We got there in the end and I’ll be sure to bring more rhyming exercises in the future but it was very interesting to see how differently they reacted!

***

In April I set myself a challenge to use more music when teaching English. I passionately believe in the power of music to make everything better and I want to motivate my students to feel more relaxed, and at the same time more inspired about learning English. I’m sure it’ll be a journey with ups and downs! 😉

***

Author:

My soul breathes music and exhales words.

Leave a Reply

