Posted in Activities

Order the lines

It’s easy to fall into the trap of “fill in the blanks” when it comes to practising listening (no matter if it’s listening to a song or a conversation).

Apart from being predictable (aka boring) it’s also more difficult than it sounds.

After finding a longer version of “If You’re Happy…” I used it in one of the classes as follows:

1. Discuss the actions (read it together, show them what it is if they don’t know)

2. Listen to the song and let the students order the actions (pause the song at the repeated listening to give them more time)

3. Write the standard lines (“If you’re happy and you know it… and you really want to show it) on the board and read it together.

4. Sing and mime the song 2 or 3 times.

I’ve used this song differently in another class (click here to read about it) where the students are a year ahead but this version was well suited for the 7-year-olds.

***

In April I set myself a challenge to use more music when teaching English. I passionately believe in the power of music to make everything better and I want to motivate my students to feel more relaxed, and at the same time more inspired about learning English. I’m sure it’ll be a journey with ups and downs! 😉

***

Author:

My soul breathes music and exhales words.

Leave a Reply

